Peace March Journals 平和行進の日記

June 14, 2014 From Seki City to Gifu City (24 kilometers)

Today we marched for about 24 kilometers from Seki, a city of Japanese swords, to Mieji Park in Gifu City.  The people in the photo above are the through marchers of Gifu Prefecture waiting for the start of the march in the morning.  During today’s march, I felt in many ways that I was not alone but supported by so many people.

Fresh green was bright and really beautiful along Nagaragawa River with clear water. People were enjoying fishing or barbequing on the dry riverbed.  They waved at us, which was truly encouraging.GIFU Day4-2

There was a happy episode during the lunchtime at Midori Hospital.  There stood a home of the elderly people just a few meters away next to the hospital, which was like a sister institution.  A woman inpatient of that home, after undergoing a rehabilitation session at the hospital, was waiting for our arrival.  She came up to me and said, “I’m sorry I only have such a small amount,” and offered a donation.  I learned that ever since she was first hospitalized there, it has not been possible for her until today to walk to this building where we were having lunch.  I was truly thankful and impressed by her effort, and felt the gravity of a 1,000 yen bill she gave me.

There was another happening today.  I met a very old friend of mine, with whom I spent my childhood days just like a family — after almost 20 years.  I never expected such an encounter and I was so happy and surprised.

Tomorrow again we will cover a long distance.

P.S.  For the first time in my life I realized that my body could produce white salt after the sweat has been dried out!  (Though of course I knew that sweat included some salt…)

This entry was written by Peace March Journals and published on June 18, 2014 at 9:58 am. It’s filed under Everyday Japanese, Peace Movement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

